Please turn your device to portrait mode ↻

Photography: Crisis of History

In his works, Joan Fontcuberta, Catalan artist, author and curator, often deals with the question of originality and authorship of artworks. His exhibition “Photography: Crisis of History” takes this to the extreme: Things are not what they seem. For the 7th Triennale der Photographie Hamburg, curators Alison Nordström and Cale Garrido asked us to create an overall visual identity and exhibition design.

  • Environmental Design
  • Conceptual design
  • Corporate Design
  • Signage
  • Marketing

Based on a signature field, as it is used for the certification of artworks, we designed a key visual whose typography appears serious and perfect only at first glance.

A closer look reveals that this is only an illusion: the letters are cut roughly and appear incorrect. The play with supposed improvisation and spontaneity is like a common theme throughout the signage and the entire exhibition architecture.

In the entrance area of Hamburg's Barlach-Halle K, for example, a presentation of the history of photography awaits the visitor. However this seems more like a temporary, homemade solution – and the ends of which are already rolling in.

Also the pins with the somewhat too big, colorful heads are a little out of place. They – apparently – seem to be the only attachment for many of the image captions.

They echo the colours of the three thematic groups, which can also be found in the display cases.

At the end of the exhibition, the visitor makes a surprising discovery in a large, white cube that puts Fontcubertas work in a different light – and also explains the play with the clichés of the exhibition design.

Bitte drehen Sie Ihr Gerät ins Hochformat ↻

Photography: Crisis of History

Joan Fontcuberta, katalanischer Künstler, Autor und Kurator, beschäftigt sich in seinen Arbeiten oft mit der Frage nach Originalität und Urheberschaft von Kunstwerken. Seine Ausstellung „Photography: Crisis of History“ treibt dies auf die Spitze: Nichts ist hier so, wie es zu sein scheint. Die Kuratorinnen Alison Nordström und Cale Garrido baten uns im Rahmen der 7. Triennale der Photographie Hamburg, ein Erscheinungsbild und Ausstellungsdesign dafür zu konzipieren.

  • Environmental Design
  • Konzeption
  • Corporate Design
  • Signage
  • Marketing

Ausgehend von einem Unterschriftenfeld, wie es bei Zertifikaten und Stempeln von Kunstwerken Verwendung findet, entwickelten wir ein Key Visual, dessen Typografie nur auf den ersten Blick seriös und perfekt erscheint.

Sieht man genauer hin, erkennt man, dass dies nur eine Täuschung ist: Die Buchstaben sind grob geschnitten und wirken fehlerhaft. Das Spiel mit vermeintlicher Improvisation und Spontaneität zieht sich wie ein roter Faden durch das Signage und die gesamte Ausstellungsarchitektur.

So erwartet den Besucher im Eingangsbereich der Hamburger Barlach-Halle K eine Darstellung der Geschichte der Fotografie, die aber eher wie eine temporäre, selbstgebastelte Lösung wirkt – und deren Enden sich bereits nachlässig einrollen.

Etwas fehl am Platze wirken auch die Stecknadeln mit den etwas zu großen, bunten Köpfen, die – scheinbar – die einzige Befestigung für viele Bildlegenden darstellen.

Sie greifen die Farben der drei Themengruppen wieder auf, die sich auch in den Vitrinen wiederfinden.

Am Ende der Ausstellung macht der Besucher in einem großen, weißen Kubus eine überraschende Entdeckung, die Fontcubertas Arbeit in ein anderes Licht rückt – und die auch das Spiel mit den Klischees des Ausstellungsdesigns erklärt.